[Expired] 2018 Penn State Bioinorganic workshop and symposium

The Pennsylvania State University, University Park Campus, June 1 – 6, 2018


The workshop will feature the following scientific program:

  • 12 talks on methods relevant to bioinorganic chemistry
  • 12 2-h repetitions of hands-on training in small groups (typically not exceeding 6 participants) in the following 21 methods: (1) Fundamentals of EPR spectroscopy; (2) pulsed EPR techniques; (3) spin labels in EPR spectroscopy; (4) analysis of EPR spectra; (5) Mössbauer spectroscopy; (6) stopped-flow absorption spectroscopy; (7) the freeze-quench method; (8) MCD spectroscopy; (9) resonance Raman spectroscopy; (10) X-ray spectroscopy; (11) X-ray crystallography; (12) protein electrochemistry; (13) prediction of spectroscopic  parameters using density functional theory calculations; (14) high-resolution mass spectrometry; (15) small-molecule QQQ LC/MS; (16) isothermal titration calorimetry; (17) anaerobic protein purification; (18) cryoreduction experiments; (19) similarity networks in bioinformatics; (20) NMR spectroscopy of paramagnetic molecules; and (21) cell biology of metals.
  • A plenary lecture given by Roland Lill (University of Marburg, Germany)
  • A 2-h poster session
  • Four 90-min presentations on “test cases” presented by JoAnne Stubbe (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Frank Neese (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Germany ), Lance Seefeldt (Utah State University), and Michael Green (University of California, Irvine); these talks are a joint session with the 2018 Frontiers in Metallobiochemistry Symposium on June 6, 2018.

The following scientists and many members of their groups have tentatively agreed to participate: Jeff Agar (Northeastern University), Eckhard Bill (Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion), Amie Boal (Pennsylvania State University), Marty Bollinger (Pennsylvania State University), Squire Booker (Pennsylvania State University), Sarah Bowman (Hauptman-Woodward Institute), Kara Bren (University of Rochester), Wei-chen Chang(North Carolina State University), Joseph Cotruvo (Pennsylvania State University), Candace Davison (Pennsylvania State University), Serena DeBeer(Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion), Oliver Einsle (Freiburg University), Sean Elliott (Boston University), John Gerlt (University of Illinois), Frank Neese (Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion), John Golbeck (Pennsylvania State University), Yisong (Alex) Guo(Carnegie Mellon University), Jesse Kleingardner (Messiah College),  Carsten Krebs (Pennsylvania State University), Nicolai Lehnert (University of Michigan), Tapas Mal (Pennsylvania State University), Megan Matthews (University of Pennsylvania), Frank Neese (Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion), Carlos Pacheco (Pennsylvania State University), Maria-Eirini Pandelia (Brandeis University), Christopher Pollock (CHESS, Cornell University), Denis Proshlyakov (Michigan State University), Hannah Shafaat (Ohio State University), Alexey Silakov (Pennsylvania State University), Troy Stich (University of California, Davis), Stefan Stoll (University of Washington), Bennett Streit (Montana State University), Art van der Est (Brock University), and Dean Wilcox (Dartmouth College).